It’s hard out here

She’s 28, a working-mom of two kids and has a good understanding of misogyny, double standards and sarcasm: Lily Allen is back! After an absence of three years from the pop music realm she lands a single that not only mocks 2013’s summer hit Blurred Lines, but at the same time addresses ‘all the wrongs’ of how women usually are portrayed in video clips. I could land a zillion discussions of her video, but take a look for yourself.

Allen understands her position & takes the artistic liberty she has to fight for the still-existing (gender) inequalities between male and female counterparts in the music industry (or maybe even the ‘pop culture’ world we live in?). Not just the video highlights the double standards  of the industry, her lyrics do so too:
“You’ll find me in the studio, and not in the kitchen
I won’t be braggin’ ’bout my cars, or talkin’ ’bout my chains
Don’t need to shake my ass for you ‘cuz I got a brain
If I told you ’bout my sex life, you’d call me a slut
When boys be talkin’ ’bout their bitches no one’s making a fuss”

.. A perfect example that illustrates it’s actually still ‘hard out here’ for many of ‘us’? Allen often brings up a very female perspective on the world in her songs (think about her previous album ‘It’s not me, it’s you), or at least not afraid to share how she thinks the world should be. So, in a world where Beyonce wishes to be a man to better understand, or where it does not matter who or what you are to Gaga,  the sound and lyrics of this British lady are quite refreshing and pleasant to hear.

Leave a Reply

