The Big Reunion Research Trip (part 1!)

I’m slightly getting nervous for tomorrow. Tonight 6 acts, reunited in March of this year, kick off a 5-day Christmas Tour and I’m visiting one of these reunion concerts. The concerts I’m talking about are The Big Reunion Christmas Party gigs. The Big Reunion is a television (reality?) program created by ITV in March 2013. The program was very successful: about a million viewers per week followed the adventures of how boy- and girl bands who had their heydays in the late ’90s and ’00s were brought back together to give the ‘performance of a lifetime’ at the Hammersmith Apollo in London.

We could closely follow the struggles and emotional developments of the reunion of 5ive, Atomic Kitten, B*Witched, 911, Liberty X and the Honeyz. The first three were quite popular in the Netherlands as well back in the day, and many of my friends (including me) had albums or even went to a gig. I must admit, the only boy band I saw ‘live’ in my lifetime is Boyzone, but I’m more than curious to see how these acts have ‘grown up’ and especially after some dramatic scenes in the program, I’m also very curious to learn and see how the bands interact and of course.. if the audience still can dance and sing along to their hits!

So, if you happen to be at one of the gigs in Birmingham/ London (or at the others!) and would love to talk a bit about how you experienced the reunion or if you want to share some amazing pictures with the world, feel free to contact me or walk up to me (I’ll be the tiny one with the white glasses) 🙂

I will blog about my experience after the Birmingham concert on the 12th (I’ll be there) and I’ll have a look around in London (for both gigs!). At this moment, the LG Arena gig is less than 24hours away.. but till I can offer you some ‘live’ material, enjoy the Big Reunion’s Christmas single (which of course I hope they’ll be performing all together tomorrow) 🙂

One thought on “The Big Reunion Research Trip (part 1!)

  1. Pingback: What’s on in London| The Weekend: 13-15th December | Lot About London

Leave a Reply

