PhD Done, Radio Interviews On!

On the 29th of June, I defended my Ph.D. But before the big day, I was invited by a radio station(s) to talk about research. In case you wondered why these ‘serious’ station all of a sudden gave the Spice Girls or Backstreet Boys some airtime… That was because of my dissertation! Moreover, my claim that we should take ‘even this type of music’ (highly commercial pop) from the past – which now might somehow come back into our lives – seriously. Often my research topic evokes some laughter, but overall people (seem to) understand the value of music. So, why shouldn’t this type of music have value for some listeners? I explained, defended and illustrated how that works in practice.

I was invited by Radio 1’s Langs de Lijn en Omstreken, which resulted in a 20-minute interview with me and one of the Backstreet Boys fans. And also by Radio Rijnmond (local radio station), and a morning show on Radio 2. All fragments are in Dutch.

Leave a Reply

